Leave a comment

What Kind of Seed Are You Sowing?

Love ? I love love love you.

Love ? I love love love you.

What Kind of Seed Are You Sowing?
I hate stickers. Not the cute little things that my kids tend to spread all over the walls of my house. I am talking about the evil stickers that are trying to infiltrate my precious lawn. They are aggressive little demonic things that hurt when you step on them, and they spread like wildfire.

We have been blessed with a house that has a beautiful lot, and around 3/4 of an acre that needs to be mowed. I go out of my way to bag the grass in my yard so that I can try to control the stickers. Whatever hassle there is from push mowing my yard, it is well worth it if I can curb the wicked advance of these sticky evil things.

When I was mowing my yard, I felt God speak to me saying, “Stickers are seeds too.” This is not one of those great, awe inspiring revelations that God will sometimes impart to His people. It’s a simple thought, stickers are seeds. As I meditated on this, I began to realize the spiritual implications of what God was trying to tell me.

Christians are very easily seed minded. We have examples like the parable of the “Sower Sowing the Word” in Mark 4. We have used this scripture to expound on the benefits of sowing good seed whether it is regarding finances or sowing the word of God into people’s lives.

What God was telling me is that there is a flip side to this spiritual law Jesus spoke of in Mark 4. The apostle Paul wrote in Galations 6:7 “Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows.” We as Christians sometimes take God’s grace for granted, realizing that we can sin and always have God’s grace to fall back on. The spiritual forgiveness is there, and God is no longer punishing mankind for theirs sins, like He did the Old Testament.

What Galations 6:7 is saying is that while a person is forgiven by God’s grace, that grace does not exempt them from facing the consequences of their actions. Our actions have a harvest, both good and bad.

Eleven years ago an incredibly beautiful lady walked down an isle and became my wife. I have been blessed to be married to someone that is more than I ever dreamed a wife could be. She is an absolutely incredible mother and a wonderful, godly wife. I realize that she is not perfect, but her imperfections seem so small compared to how incredible she is and the person that she is.

Now, as much as we love each other, a marriage is not exempt from reaping the harvest of each others actions. I know that in my marriage I must sow love, kindness, tenderness, compassion, forgiveness to receive the same. I cannot take my wife for granted and neglect her needs, and then sit back shocked when I feel like my needs are neglected. If I want an incredible marriage, I have to take the necessary steps on my part to ensure my marriage is overflowing with goodness. It would be selfish and reckless to rely on my wife to do everything needed to make my marriage work.

We need to be mindful of our actions and their potential consequences. God’s grace is not a “Get Out of Jail Free Card” that provides us a license to do whatever we want. So, take a look at your actions and ask yourself, “What kind of seeds am I sowing?

Leave a Reply

The Healing Writer

“Living life intentionally”

iwanttobelieveingod

A blog for spiritual seekers of the Truth.

The Spirit and the Bride say COME! Come Lord Jesus

A Cry for new Intimacy between the Bride and the Spirit

God's Enduring Love

Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal

Rivers of Hope

Prayer zone for a better, empowering, inspiring, promoting, prospering, progressing and more successful life through Christ Jesus

God Speaks I Listen

A blog where I share my messages and interactions that I have with God

cnhFaith.me

Inspiration, Motivation, and Spirituality

The Christian Gazette

Spreading The Gospel

echo Christ

A Gospel Centered Blog

In Her Words Avenue

Everybody has a story, everybody has a scream. Here are pieces of mine.

31daysofawesome

Finding Awesome in this messed up Journey called life

biblicaldiagnosis.wordpress.com/

It's About Christ and His People

Leading Family Devotions

Christian Devotions For Busy Families

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

She Laughs

God first, We provide uplifting word inpired by the Holy Spirit for everyday life.

Before The Cross

Glorifying God by sharing the love of Christ.

The Plumbline

God first, We provide uplifting word inpired by the Holy Spirit for everyday life.

God first, We provide uplifting word inpired by the Holy Spirit for everyday life.

Enjoying Christ

Exploring God's Eternal Desire

