Leave a comment

Five Proven Weapons in the Fight for Holiness

Five Proven Weapons in the Fight for Holiness
John Piper
When Paul says to put to death the deeds of the body “by the Spirit” (Romans 8:13), I take him to mean that we should use the one weapon in the Spirit’s armor that is used to kill. Namely, the sword. Which is the word of God (Ephesians 6:17).
So when the body is about to be led into a sinful action by some fear or craving, we are to take the sword of the Spirit and kill that fear and that craving. In my experience that means mainly severing the root of sin’s promise by the power of a superior promise.
So, for example, when I begin to crave some illicit sexual pleasure, the sword-swing that has often severed the root of this promised pleasure is: “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God” (Matthew 5:8). I recall the pleasures I have tasted of seeing God more clearly from an undefiled conscience; and I recall the brevity and superficiality and oppressive aftertaste of sin’s pleasures, and with that, God has killed the conquering power of sin.
It is a beautiful thing to be the instrument of God’s word-wielding power to kill sin.
Having promises at hand that suit the temptation of the hour is one key to successful warfare against sin. But there are times when we don’t have a perfectly suited word from God in our minds. And there is no time to look through the Bible for a tailor-made promise.
So we all need to have a small arsenal of general promises ready to use whenever fear or craving threaten to lead us astray.
Here are a few of my most proven weapons:
1. “Fear not, for I am with you. Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you. I will help you. I will uphold you with my righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10)
I have slain more dragons in my soul with that sword than any other I think. It is a precious weapon to me.
2. “He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things?” (Romans 8:32).
How many times I have been persuaded in the hour of trial by this verse that the reward of disobedience could never be greater than “all things.”
3. “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me . . . And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:18, 20).
How many times have I strengthened my sagging spirit with the assurance that the Lord of heaven and earth is just as much with me today as he was with the disciples on earth!
4. “Call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you and you shall glorify me” (Psalm 50:15).
What makes this weapon so compelling is that God’s helping me is made the occasion of my glorifying him. Amazing arrangement. I get the help, he gets the glory!
5. “My God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus”(Philippians 4:19).
The context is financial and material. But the principle is total. What we really need (not just want) will be granted. And what is need? Need is what we must have to do God’s will. What we must have to magnify our Savior. That is what we will be given as we trust him.
Be constantly adding to your arsenal of promises. But never lose sight of the chosen few that God has blessed in your life. Do both. Be ever-ready with the old. And every morning look for a new one to take with you through the day.
Pastor John
Free eBook Offer from CUFI!
Give Shoes to Orphans
Free DVD- Magdalena: Through Her Eyes
Training Champions For Christ
Free Book about Christian Persecution
Featured Video
Ministry from
LightSource.com
Brian Houston
Hillsong TV
See more ministry videos
at LightSource.com
Explore the Bible
Justifi-what?
The Rainbow Agenda and the Christian Response
How to Keep Going after False Accusations
What Would Jesus Do: Discerning Which Biblical Laws Matter, and Which Don’t
Send a FREE Ecard
More Ecards
God For Us
God’s Masterpiece
Taste and See
Thank You Bee
Unsubscribe | Read about Salem Web Network | Send us your Feedback | Subscription Preferences
© 2012 Salem Web Network. All rights reserved.
111 Virginia Street, Suite 500
Richmond, VA 23219
This email is never sent unsolicited. You received this email because your email address, phenum129@gmail.com, is signed up to receive email from a Salem Web Network website. We respect and value your time and are committed to protecting your privacy.
Use the links above to learn more about Salem Web Network (SWN), provide us with your feedback, update your preferences, or unsubscribe from this email. Salem Web Network website properties include:
Crosswalk.com
OnePlace.com
LightSource.com
CrossCards.com
Christianity.com
BibleStudyTools.com
ChristianCollege.com
GodTube.com
GospelTube.com
Jesus.org
TheFish.com

Leave a Reply

The Healing Writer

“Living life intentionally”

iwanttobelieveingod

A blog for spiritual seekers of the Truth.

The Spirit and the Bride say COME! Come Lord Jesus

A Cry for new Intimacy between the Bride and the Spirit

God's Enduring Love

Words of Encouragement from the Bible and Liz's Journal

Rivers of Hope

Prayer zone for a better, empowering, inspiring, promoting, prospering, progressing and more successful life through Christ Jesus

God Speaks I Listen

A blog where I share my messages and interactions that I have with God

cnhFaith.me

Inspiration, Motivation, and Spirituality

The Christian Gazette

Spreading The Gospel

echo Christ

A Gospel Centered Blog

In Her Words Avenue

Everybody has a story, everybody has a scream. Here are pieces of mine.

31daysofawesome

Finding Awesome in this messed up Journey called life

biblicaldiagnosis.wordpress.com/

It's About Christ and His People

Leading Family Devotions

Christian Devotions For Busy Families

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

She Laughs

God first, We provide uplifting word inpired by the Holy Spirit for everyday life.

Before The Cross

Glorifying God by sharing the love of Christ.

The Plumbline

God first, We provide uplifting word inpired by the Holy Spirit for everyday life.

God first, We provide uplifting word inpired by the Holy Spirit for everyday life.

Enjoying Christ

Exploring God's Eternal Desire

